Color of the Year 2010 Turquoise

October 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

15-5519 Turquoise

Each year pantone picks many colors to be the trend for the spring, summer, winter and fall. But only one gets to be the color of the year. Last December Pantone released the ever so amazing 15-5519 Turquoise. “In many cultures, Turquoise occupies a very special position in the world of color,” explains Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute®. “It is believed to be a protective talisman, a color of deep compassion and healing, and a color of faith and truth, inspired by water and sky. Through years of color word-association studies, we also find that Turquoise represents an escape to many – taking them to a tropical paradise that is pleasant and inviting, even if only a fantasy.” I don’t know about the rest of you, but I just couldn’t get enough of this bright fun color. I’ve even got it on my nails now 🙂

When seeing this color just sitting on the shelf at Boots waiting for me I just had to buy it! A real life application on how this color trend went from prediction to reality and I wanted to be a party of it. When documenting this experience, in other words taking a picture of my nails, I ran into trouble with the coloration of my photo. Although my nails were almost the exactly 15-5519 Turquoise, in the photo the color looked my more blue than turquoise. I thought an interesting study could done on the relationship between the reality of color to the transference of those colors onto different medium. whether it be photography, abstract images, or a color chart.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Color of the Year 2010 Turquoise at Rachel's Design Blog.

meta

