I Want, Therefore I am.

October 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am interested in society, humanity, people. The way people relate to the world around them. What do people need to survive? What do we want to survive? I believe people generally want the same things; shelter, a home, security, food, success (whatever that is, if you find out let me know), comfort, happiness, family.. and as Liz Lemon of 30 Rocks says, “all anyone wants is a sandwich.”
But anyways. It bothers me that we live in a world designed for us. Don’t get me wrong I love my Mac and my iphone and my memory foam bed that curves perfectly to the fit of my spine. What gets me is, we spend day to day moving from one square box to another working in an office, buying consuming, eating sleeping all in boxed rooms. People are not boxes, we are soft, round no sharp edges or corners. What makes us want the stiffness of the world? What makes us work and consume? General human instinct to survive in the world around us?
Through my research so far the videos below have hit home the most. Consumerism, wanting, needing, working. These are something of the things that plague my own life. I never feel like its enough. Theres not enough time in a day. I need to work more, I need more money. I haven’t worked hard enough. Am I on the right path? What do I need. What fulfils me? How do I get to the next level, the next point in my career? How do I show I am worthy of success?
Some of these questions I know the answer to, but often forget. I find I have to remind myself, in the general sense of humanity I am on the right path. At least I ask these questions. I wonder if there are people out there that everyday get out of bed and say, yup I’m doing the right thing. Everything I believe in is true and right and just. The world is as it should be and I will the right choice today. Personally I question myself, my choices, this world. I’m always asking why.
I wonder how much of our lives are driven by modern media and consumerism. What does she have, what do I have, oh I need that. Are marketing and consumerism the driving forces behind our world? The force that makes me move from box to box. Or is it just human nature? The simple need to survive in our surroundings?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Want, Therefore I am. at Rachel's Design Blog.

meta

